MMD’s Peter Phiri beats PF’s David Phiri with over 7,000 votes

Opposition MMD’s Peter Phiri has been officially declared winner of the Mukaika parliamentary seat after he beat the ruling PF’s David Phiri with over 7,000 votes in Thursday, September 5, 2013 by-election.

The MMD according to official results announced at 1am Friday polled 9,054 votes while the PF’s Phiri who caused the by-election by resigning from MMD only managed 1, 712 votes.
The NAREP candidate Nigel Mpakateni got 161 votes with UNIP’s Nelson Mwale came last with 136 votes.
Mkaika constituency has 38 polling stations and a total of 11, 295 votes were cast with 232 votes rejected.