Economic and Social Council Elects Vice-President for 2018 Session, Takes Note of Experts Appointed to Committee on International Cooperation in Tax Matters

As it continued its newly-opened 2018 session this afternoon, the Economic and Social Council completed the election of its bureau and took note of appointments to the Committee of Experts on International Cooperation in Tax Matters.

By acclamation, Jerry Matthews Matjila of South Africa was elected Vice-President of the Council for the session. With the bureau complete, the Council then decided on the division of responsibilities among officers, with Mr. Matthews assigned to the humanitarian affairs segment.

Marie Chatardova (Czech Republic), President, was assigned to the high-level segment, the High Level Political Forum on sustainable development, the forum on financing for development follow-up, as well as the multi-stakeholder forum on science, technology and innovation for the Sustainable Development Goals.

The other four Vice Presidents were assigned as follows: Marc Pecsteen (Belgium) to the operational activities for development segment, Mahmadamin Mahmadaminov (Tajikistan) to the integration segment, and Inga Rhonda King (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines) to the coordination and management meetings, including the elections to fill vacancies in the Council’s subsidiary bodies.

The experts appointed to the Committee on cooperation in tax matters, as listed in document E/2018/9/Add.1, were selected by the Secretary-General to serve in their personal capacity for a four-year term beginning on the date of notification of the appointment and expiring on 30 June 2021.

Those experts are: Natalia Aristazabal Mora of Columbia; Abdoulfatah Moussa Arreh of Djibouti; Rajat Bansal of India; Margaret Moonga Chikuba of Zambia; William Babatunde Fowler of Nigeria; Mitsuhiro Honda of Japan; Cezary Krysiac of Poland; Eric Nil Yarboi Mensah of Ghana; Dang Ngoc Minh of Viet Nam; Patricia Mongkhonvanit of Thailand; Marlene Patricia Nembhard-Parker of Jamaica; George Omondi Obell of Kenya; Carmel Peters of New Zealand; Carlos E. Protto of Argentina; Jorge Antonio Deher Rachid of Brazil; Aart Roelofsen of the Netherlands; Christoph Schelling of Switzerland; Aleksandr Anatolyevitch Smirnov of Russian Federation; Stephanie Smith of Canada; Elfrieda Stewart Tamba of Liberia; Titia Stolte-Detring of Germany; Jose Troya of Ecuador; Ingela Willfors of Sweden; Yan Xiong of China; and Sing Yuan Yong of Singapore.

The Economic and Social Council will meet again at a time and date to be listed in the Journal.

Source: United Nations