Coach Renard names Chipolopolo Squad for Lesotho, Sudan Games

Coach Herve Renard has unveiled the squad for the two forthcoming  World Cup qualifier to be played at Levy Mwanawasa stadium in Ndola on the Copperbelt.

The 25 man-team comprise of 10 local players and foreign based who will compete for the places in the last team. The team is expected to go into camp Monday evening, May 27, 2013 in readiness for training on Tuesday.

According to Football Association of Zambia, Skipper Chris Katongo leads the assemblage which sees the return of James Chamanga, Noah Chivuta and Jacob Mulenga – all of whom missed the last qualifier against Lesotho. The squad has four goalkeepers – Kennedy Mweene, Danny Munyau, Rabson Muchelegenga and Davy Kaumbwa.

“June is a very important month for the qualifiers and our aspirations of winning Qualifying Group D and going onto to the final play-off round for us to retain our nation’s dreams of maiden FIFA World Cup qualification. We are confident that with this selection, the coach has brought together talents who will apply themselves well to what he will impart on them and go on to battle bravely and emerge victorious against Lesotho and Sudan on the 8th and 15th of June respectively,” said FAZ Spokesperson Erick Mwanza when he unveiled the squad at a press conference at Football House this morning.

There is pressure fot the Chipolopolo Boys to win both games if the dream for their debut World Cup is to be realized.

The team comprises: Kennedy MWEENE GK (Free State Stars, RSA), Danny MUNYAU GK (Red Arrows), Rabson MUCHELEGENGA GK (Nchanga Rangers), Davy KAUMBWA GK (Green Buffaloes); Joseph MUSONDA (Golden Arrows, RSA), Jimmy CHISENGA (Red Arrows), Davies NKAUSU (Supersport United, RSA), Kondwani MTONGA (Zesco United), Emmanuel M’BOLA (FC Porto, RSA), Bronson CHAMA (Red Arrows),

Hichani HIMONDE (TP Mazembe, DRC), Nathan SINKALA (TP Mazembe, DRC), Shadreck MALAMBO (Red Arrows), Noah CHIVUTA (Free State Stars, RSA), Mukuka MULENGA (Power Dynamos), Rainford KALABA (TP Mazembe, DRC), Alex NGONGA (Nchanga Rangers), Chisamba LUNGU (FC Urals, Russia), Fwayo TEMBO (Astra, Romania), Collins MBESUMA (Orlando Pirates, RSA), Bonwell MWAPE (Nchanga Rangers), Christopher KATONGO (Henan Jienye, China), Emmanuel MAYUKA (Southampton, England), James CHAMANGA (Liaoning Whowin, China), Jacob MULENGA (FC Utrecht, The Netherlands).